Impossibilities before breakfast

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

I need space, creative space; especially at home because obviously, most of my time is spent there. Before I moved in with the boy, I had an adorable girly apartment in a very vintage building. People would say, “This screams, Rachel!” Not sure if every person meant it as a compliment, but I sure did take it that way. When you take that next step with your partner, you know, moving in together. You’re also taking another step: sacrifice (dun dun dun).

Just little sacrifices here and there, right? Don’t get me wrong, I have loved every minute of it. I most definitely encourage moving in with the one you love. The sacrifices you make for each other only make for a better relationship. So I said goodbye to my girly apartment, and welcomed a bachelor pad into my life.

I remember when I first saw his place…..

I loved it. I have to admit, I was nervous seeing his place for the first time. I dated him for quite some time before seeing it. You never know what it might be like! One guy I dated had no furniture. Literally. Spent money like he had it though! Jed’s place was airy, open and free. Beautiful art work hung everywhere. Photos of family filled the place (good sign – he loves family). And he had one of the best coffee stations there is! He made a beautiful home, and he looked so good in it. Still does!

The day came for me to move in (dun dun dun). Which meant, time for my touch! We don’t always agree with where to hang something, but we’ve always agreed with bringing each other’s personalities into the home. Our home is centered around peace and love. We love natural sunlight. The smell of fresh air, so our windows will always be cracked. And no television. Go ahead, have your shock moment. We’re one of those people! Anything that represents a memory is important to us: photos, art, trinkets from trips, his kid’s art work, etc.  Our place does not look like Z Gallery catalog, but we can give a story to every piece we have. In some ways, I feel like our home is a book. It’s a continuous tale, a love story, an adventure, some drama, and always good endings.

The new phase: creating a creative space for Rachel.

Writing has always been a tool for me to express myself, though always done in a private journal. So this journey of “blogging” is all new to me. I’m still not comfortable with it all yet, but it has helped me overcome many fears.

“Always, always choose creativity over fear” – my mantra!

I love to read, draw, sketch, and paint. I love music. I love my quiet moments. I love color. I love positive words. Just give me an area where I can settle in and create; it’s what I need.  

When you live with someone, you share a bedroom, closet, kitchen, living room, computers, closets, socks (that one is for you baby) and so on. Don’t misunderstand me here, I love living with my boyfriend. Everything about being at home is more fun when you’re with the right person. With that said, there are times I miss that space I once had. And I am sure, he feels that too.

Times when I could just draw, write, sing, read, meditate…do anything I wanted with that space; that quiet. When you find someone that notices that about you, and then ENCOURAGES you to create that space in “our” home, you picked a good one. My project begins….

Sunday afternoon’s have become my time to create. Jed usually meets one of his cycling buddies, and I stay home to start working on those projects I’ve been waiting for. Just me, coffee, Pandora, Waffles (our dog), and the brush. We go to town!

Projects from my Sunday….

image

A lyric from Mumford and Sons, Awake my Soul.

image

image

My area.

image

Fireplace mantle with our favorite saying.

image

As always,  be free.

Leave a Reply

